Page 1 of 1

Jan/Feb volunteering - Habitat, Dolls Head and more

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:57 am
by davey
Thursday we begin Day 1 on the first of 3 houses sponsored by Clark Howard and the hash! (Well, and a lot of other sponsors) The build dates are below and they do fill up fast so sign up if you want to help out and get a cool shirt (well, at least a shirt!). Info is at clark.com/habitat

Also -- Monday January 20th is MLK Day and we'll be volunteering out at Constitution Lakes / Dolls Head trail. Not sure how long we'll be out but will start at 10am. If you have dietary restrictions PLEASE let Davey or Easy Head Job know! Will have food and refreshments for after the day. Plan on getting dirty and bring any tools you might have (shovels, picks, shears, etc). "Bring mud-boots if so inclined...prob meet at the main boardwalk... trash and privet removal, mostly...also, a new trail can be worked on...bags will be provided but volunteers will need to bring tools" Bring GLOVES and any tools you think will help. We'll sign in down by the Dolls Head trail so after parking, walk along the paved path to the lakes and then left...you should see us :)

Finally -- the last weekend of the month is Australia Day and while this isn't a volunteer opportunity per se, it would be awesome if the Atlanta kennels join kennels world-wide in raising funds for wildfire relief.

Speaking of working world-wide, our clean up efforts this Monday and throughout the year will be in conjunction with Hashers Not Trashers, a new non-profit of like-minded hashers cleaning up their corners of the world. I'm also going to try to track hasher volunteer hours (this could look good if we make someone mad!). Y'all rock. THANK YOU


Habitat/Clark Howard winter build dates

Thursday, 1/16/20
Saturday, 1/18/20
Saturday, 1/25/20
Saturday, 2/1/20
Saturday, 2/8/20
Saturday, 2/15/20
Saturday, 2/22/20
Wednesday, 2/26/20
Friday, 2/28/20